2013 Eclipse Awards Finalists

Finalists for 2013 Eclipse Awards

EclipseFinalists for the 2013 Eclipse Awards were announced today, January 8th, 2014. The Eclipse Awards recognize excellence in Thoroughbred racing on the horse and human levels. Before we get into the finalists in each division, let’s talk for a minute about Eclipse, the horse that the awards are named in honor of. Eclipse was an undefeated 18th century British Thoroughbred racehorse who won 18 races including 11 King’s Plates. Named after the solar eclipse of April 1st, 1764 in which he was foaled, Eclipse did not begin his racing career until he was 5 years old. But once he got started, look out! He won 18 races supposedly without ever being fully extended and proving to be the best in every field without any real close competitors, despite his temperamental manner and his awkward running style of holding his nose close to the ground! I can only imagine what we would have to say about a horse that ran this way today! He is attested to have covered 83 feet per second at top speed, which would equate to 25 feet in a single stride. Eclipse also went on to have a VERY successful career at stud. Overall, Eclipse sired 344 winners of more than ₤158,000 (although the number varies with different reports, ranging from 325 to 400). Regardless, the Royal Veterinary College determined in 1970 that nearly 80% of Thoroughbred racehorses had Eclipse in their pedigree. That percentage has naturally increased with time and the inevitable inbreeding in the Thoroughbred population. More recently, it has been estimated that Eclipse is not only somewhere in the pedigree, but a tail-male ancestor of “95pc of contemporary thoroughbreds” or of “nearly every living thoroughbred.” Talk about a horse for the ages!

2013 Eclipse Awards

As stated earlier, the finalists were announced for this year’s Eclipse Awards by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form, and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters. There are 17 categories covering both horse and human divisions. The winners of these awards will be announced on January 18th at the 43rd annual Eclipse Award dinner and ceremony at Gulfstream Park. The event is sponsored by Daily Racing Form, Breeders’ Cup and The Stronach Group. Below is a list of the 3 finalists in each division (listed in alphabetical order). Take a look at the finalists, and then tell us in the comments section below who you like or who you feel is missing.

Apprentice Jockey: Victor Carrasco, Manuel Franco, Edgard Zayas

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Apprentice Jockey

Jockey: Javier Castellano, Joel Rosario, Gary Stevens

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Jockey

Trainer: Bob Baffert, Bill Mott, Todd Pletcher

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Trainer

Breeder: Adena Springs, Morton Fink, Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Breeder

Owner: Juddmonte Farms, Midwest Thoroughbreds, Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey


Steeplechase Horse: Divine Fortune, Gustavian, Italian Wedding

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Steeplechase Horse

Female Turf Horse: Dank, Laughing, Mizdirection

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Female Turf Horse

Male Turf Horse: Magician, Point of Entry, Wise Dan

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Male Turf Horse

Female Sprinter: Dance to Bristol, Groupie Doll, Mizdirection

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Female Sprinter

Male Sprinter: Points Offthebench, Sahara Sky, Secret Circle

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Male Sprinter

Older Female: Joyful Victory, Royal Delta, Tiz Miz Sue

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Older Female

Older Male: Game On Dude, Mucho Macho Man, Wise Dan

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Older Male

3-Year-Old Filly: Beholder, Close Hatches, Princess of Sylmar

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- 3-Year Old Filly

3-Year-Old Male: Orb, Palace Malice, Will Take Charge

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- 3-Year Old Male

2-Year-Old Filly: Chriselliam, Ria Antonia, She’s a Tiger

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- 2-Year Old Filly

2-Year-Old Male: Havana, New Year’s Day , Shared Belief

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- 2-Year Old Male

Horse of the Year: Mucho Macho Man, Will Take Charge, Wise Dan

2013 Eclipse Award Finalists- Horse of the Year

As a side note, D Wayne Lukas is being honored with the Eclipse Award of Merit, Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance will receive the Eclipse Special Award, Jim Benes will receive Handicapper of the Year and several members of the media will be awarded for outstanding coverage in 6 different categories. Alas, did not make the cut for any of the media awards, but maybe next year we’ll get ‘em, lol. At any rate, be sure and let us know your thoughts on this year’s Eclipse finalists in the comments below!




The following two tabs change content below.
Mike Jr, eldest son of Mike Lane Sr, is co-lead author at and was raised on thoroughbred horse racing and handicapping. Although father and son often butt heads on their selections, they both have much love and admiration for the sport. Mike Jr. brings a new, fresh perspective to horse racing and is often in search of new angles to try.

Latest posts by Mike Lane Jr (see all)

Leave a Reply